Friday, 22 April 2016

The Gerald Kraak Award and Anthology

Created in honour of the late activist Gerald Kraak’s extraordinary legacy of supporting human rights, this award will advance his contribution to building a South Africa that is safe and welcoming to all. The unique and vital anthology will feature English language writing and photography from and about Africa. Exceptional works which explore, interrogate and celebrate the topics of gender, sexuality and human rights will be short-listed, and given a voice through publication.

Closing date for submissions: 31 July 2016
Shortlist announced: 15 December 2016

• fiction
• non-fiction
• poetry
• photography / photographic essays
• journalism / magazine reporting
• scholarly articles in academic journals and book chapters / extracts
• social media / blog writings and contributions
• Materials must not exceed 15 000 words or 10 images.
• We are looking for work which tells a story or illustrates an idea. If one photograph achieves this, then we welcome the submission of that single image. It is however more likely to be accomplished through a collection of photographs or a photographic essay.
• No handwritten or hard copy entries can be considered. Submissions must be made via the online entry form:

• The entry form calls for a short biography (100 words maximum) and contact details of the entrant. These should not be included on the work being submitted, as the award is judged blind and the entrant remains anonymous until the shortlist has been selected.
• Submissions are considered to implicitly indicate the entrant’s permission for their work to be published in the anthology, if shortlisted, for no payment or royalty.
Closing date: 31 July 2016

Shortlist announced: December 2016

Submit to Jacana Media by following this link:


Works which fall within one of the following categories are accepted:

Entries must have been created by a citizen of an African country, who primarily lives and works on the continent.

Written submissions must be in English.

• Up to three entries are permitted per author, across categories. Each entry must be submitted on a separate electronic entry form.

Enquiries can be directed to

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for coming to my blog page. Now, what do you think? Tell me, I'm listening...